Tee Time Tales: Unveiling the Art of Golf Excuses

Richard Barrett
6 min readJan 8, 2024
Trillium Wood Golf Club, Corbyville, Ontario, Canada #4 Fairway (photo courtesy of Steve McCurdy)

Having golfed with a great many other golfers over the years, I have heard a plethora of excuses for carding a sub-standard score. I must confess, I have used some of them myself.

Sometimes I jokingly poll the three friends that I am teeing it up with. Do you have any injuries or ailments that you would like to declare before the match? We all get a good chuckle out of that.

The gang that I play with has fun regardless of whether we play well or poorly. Don’t get me wrong, we all want to play well and shoot a low score. But we keep the game in perspective and don’t let a high score ruin a great day out on the golf course with friends.

Here Are The Top Ten Excuses Used By Golfers to Justify a High Score

# 1 Weather Conditions

Blaming wind, rain, or extreme temperatures. This excuse is very valid, especially when used on people who were not golfing with you that day.

To help justify that high score, you can increase the wind speed a bit or turn light rain into a heavy downfall if needed to justify that 98.

Temperature is a good one too. It was too hot, I got dehydrated out there and lost my focus and energy. It was too cold. The ball wasn’t going

--

--

Richard Barrett

Creator of the soon to be released blog, The Hungry Golfer, where I blog about all things golf and food. Let's travel the world, enjoying great golf and food.